20090301_Bilton Green Crocuses Walk

20090301_Bilton Green Crocuses Walk
When : 1st March 2009
Who : Me and the kids
Where : Cawston to Bilton Village, Near Rugby, Warwickshire, England
Approx Distance : A couple of miles or there abouts.
Heights : None

Summary : A Sunday morning wander just to see the crocus display on Bilton Green.

It was a lovely early spring day, so I decided it’d be a good idea to give the kids a little exercise and get a breath of fresh air by walking from our home to Bilton Village for a play on the small area of playground equipment …. It was also a very convenient excuse for a first ever try with my new camera (Pentax K200D DSLR) … especially as I’ve never used an SLR camera before.

Whilst the kids were playing on the equipment it gave me a few moments to wander around the small area where the main A4071 road through Bilton village is joined by Bawnmore Road at “The Green”.

The remains of what I assume was a stone cross stands proudly on display (minus the cross itself), and just across the road are a set of stocks, the only set of stocks I’ve seen on wheels, but fixed behind railings just in front of the CO-OP shop.

            

I assume the display of flowers is basically the work of Rugby Borough Council, but I know children from local schools have added to the number of crocus corms and daffodil bulbs over the years … it now makes a fantastic display for quite some time each spring.

There’s not much more to say really, except I hope you like my first attempts with my new camera …. I hope I’ve managed to capture the loveliness of the flowers.

The crocuses have gone over now, for another year …. I hope they return better than ever again in 2010.

                             

                             

I hope you enjoyed my scribblings ….
Next walk = 20090304_Coventry War Memorial Park

(If you’d like to see a few more pic’s, I’ve posted some more on my Flickr account … Right clicking on a pic and choosing open in new window should take you to the flickr site)

Leave a Reply

