20091004_Early Morning Cawston Circular Walk

20091004_Early Morning Cawston Circular Walk

When : 4th October 2009

Who : Just Me

Where : Cawston, Rugby, Warwickshire

Map : 1:25,000 OS Explorer Map no. 222, Rugby & Daventry

Start + End Point : End of Trussell Way on Cawston Housing Estate GR.469,735

Approx Distance : 5.5 miles, 8.5 km

Significant Heights : Just one rise of approx 100 ft (30m) when leaving Draycote Water, otherwise none worth mentioning.

Parking : On street parking on the estate … end of Trussell Way, off Cawston Grange Drive, I suppose is as good as any, put please park politely and with consideration as this is a residential area.

Public Transport : No.4 Bus from Rugby travels along, and drops of on, Calvestone Road near the large island at 474,734

Summary : Circular walk starting (and therefore finishing) at Cawston to the south west of Rugby, taking in :- The A4071 B4642 ; Cawston Woods ; Northampton Lane ; End of M45/Start of A45 ; Thurlaston Village ; Draycote Water ; and Cawston Woods again.

I was up and about quite early and as there wasn’t anything particularly happening during the morning, I decided to take advantage of what looked like some nice settled weather. The sun hadn’t come up properly yet but the pre-dawn glow looked extremely promising, so, up I got and readied myself quite quickly (and as quietly as possible so as not to disturb my family). I didn’t really know exactly where I’d end up or how far I’d go, except I knew I maybe had to get the other side of Cawston woods to stand a chance of seeing the sun come up to best effect.

I used the perimeter path that skirts the outside of the new Cawston housing estate (it passes the end of Trussell Way) to reach what was the A4071 but has now been renamed the B4642 since the opening of the Rugby Western Relief Road (The RWRR is now called the A4071). I love the old rickety rustic fence here especially when it’s silhouetted against the dawn sky; it might seem a bit sad (little things please little minds), but I like the juxtaposition of the relatively neat field boundary with a slightly run down rustic unkempt feel. The sun was just coming up, with the glow (a mix of soft yellow, orange and pink colours) picking up some light cloud and wispy vapour trails – lovely!

 

I was certainly moving quite quickly as I strode out down the side of the Coventry Road (A4071-B4642) to cross over at Nature Trails Nursery/Cawston Farm and then headed off down the farm track towards Cawston Woods (Fox Covert + Cawston Spinney). Once through the woods and up the track into open farmland again, I felt I could relax a little and I spent a little time trying to take a few pic’s with the sun rising above the horizon. After that little interlude, I headed off over some grassy fields to emerge onto Northampton Lane a short distance west of Windmill Farm and cottages.

Turning right, I headed out along the broad track of Northampton Lane which (although a bridle track) narrowed to little more than a path as it continued between hedges and mature trees. Although quite good underfoot (it can get rather muddy) I was forever getting gossamer threads of spider webs across my face as they stretched across the path – horrible stuff – occasionally the threads were highlighted by the early morning sun allowing me to wave them aside but more often than not the first time I knew of them was as they wrapped themselves around my face – Yuck!.

After about a quarter of a mile I left Northampton Lane; taking a footpath (heading off southwards) to reach the B4429 (Coventry Road). Turning right alongside the road, I soon reached a major traffic island where the M45 starts (or terminates depending on direction of travel). I carefully crossed to the opposite side of the island and after a little searching I found the footpath I wanted heading away (south eastwards) down the side of a field … a field of gold bathed in the early morning sun … After a few hundred yards the path emerged into Stocks Lane on the outskirts of Thurlaston.

  

Thurlaston is a very pretty village, with its converted windmill, leafy lanes and attractive cottages. Having been through here on numerous occasions before, I soon found my way through the village, taking Stocks Lane, passing the stocks themselves; Main Street and Church Lane.

  

At the end of Church Lane just past St Edmunds’ church and quite close to the old windmill, a track drops down to Draycote Water (pronounced Dray-cott).  I skirted the reservoir (in a clockwise direction) briefly on the perimeter road and then by dropping right down to the waters’ edge to try and get some photo’s of the sunrise. I was surprised at the low level of the reservoir considering the really poor summer we’d just had.

After a very short distance, at the north-easterly point of the reservoir, I left the water behind to take a track heading pretty much northwards up a hillside to pick up the National Cycle Network route-41 crossing under the wide line of the M45, past Ryefield Farm and on to the B4429 Coventry Road. Crossing straight over, the path then continued northwards, through a small plot of allotments and then across a single field to reach Northampton lane for a second time, this time just about 100 yards or so to the east of Windmill Farm. Luckily the lane was reasonable dry and I didn’t have lots of smelly farmyard mud to contend with as can often be the case here. Turning left along Northampton lane, I then turned right onto another path at the small grouping of buildings. The route was again heading north following the line of a hedge for a couple of fields to a junction of footpaths. Ignoring the side paths to the right and left the path continues down the side of a ploughed field. The farmer always leaves a good strip of land here, so walking was quite easy and it wasn’t long before the path opened up into a farm track dropping gentle down into Cawston Spinney.

I was now back on the track first used at the start of the day and after passing straight through Cawston Spinney/Fox Covert, I was soon back at Cawston Farm and The Nature Trails Nursery on the B4642 (old A4071). There is a tarmac footpath on the other side of the main road (please be careful crossing) and it didn’t take long to be back into the Cawston Grange Housing Estate … and back home …. and all before the rest of my family were up and moving. A superb start to a day.

I hope you enjoyed my scribblings and pics ….

Next walk = 20091004_Stretton – Princethorpe Circular Walk

2 thoughts on “20091004_Early Morning Cawston Circular Walk

  1. Pingback: 20090924_A Walk in Coventry War Memorial Park « TO THE HILLS

Leave a Reply

