20091017_A wander by the Avon – Wolston

20091017_A Wander by the Avon – Wolston

When : 17th October 2009

Who : Just Me

Where : Wolston, Warwickshire

Maps : 1:25,000 OS Explorer Map no. 222, Rugby & Daventry.

Grid ref. : 41,75

Significant Heights : None

Summary : An autumn wander down by the River Avon in Wolston, approx mid-way between Coventry and Rugby.

I’d dropped my son off for his Karate lesson at Wolston Leisure and Community Centre (not the village Hall), which is an hour long, and, as it isn’t worth going home for that amount of time and it was also a nice sunny morning I decided to go for a wander around down by the River Avon with my camera.  I found a place to park on St. Margaret’s Road [in a new housing development on what was once the old Bluemels Engineering Works] and easily found my way through to the banks of the Avon.

    

 

Because it was such a still morning there were some half-decent reflections of the railway viaduct that separates Wolston from the smaller Brandon. The viaduct and the river allow the two close neighbours to retain their own identities. I was lucky enough to see a few trains zoom past overhead, the track being the main-line from London to Birmingham via Rugby and Coventry. It’s strange how the air for some distance seems to rattle as the trains zoom by; I suppose the local residents just get used to it. 

    

The bank-side access isn’t very long really and after a “play” taking a few photo’s I made my way around to the brick road bridge and separate metal footbridge over the river between Wolston + Brandon and then back to my car and then on to pick up my lad from his lessons. A nice way to spend an hour.

    

 I hope you enjoyed my scribblings ….

Next post = 20091107_A Wander in Wolston

One thought on “20091017_A wander by the Avon – Wolston

  1. Pingback: 20091011_A walk through Cawston Woods « TO THE HILLS

Leave a Reply

