20100220_Snowdrops and a wander in Wolston – Warwickshire

20100220_Snowdrops and a wander in Wolston – Warwickshire

20100220-16_Snowdrops near Wolston community centre by gary.haddenWhen : 20th February 2010

Who : Just me

Where : Wolston, Warwickshire, Village roughly midway between Rugby and Coventry

Maps : Ordnance Survey Explorer Map No.222, Rugby and Daventry

Grid ref : SP413,755

Approx Distance : about an hours wander, distance doesn’t really come into it.

Heights : None to speak of.

Parking : With care and consideration on street parking, or near The Village Leisure and Community Centre – Just be careful because the gates can be closed and locked up at times I think.

Public Transport : Bus services do run through the village, ‘cause I’ve seen them, but don’t know how frequently; I believe they run between Rugby + Coventry and vice-versa.

If you want to see the photo’s larger, just click on the image and it’ll launch from my flickr site …. If you still want larger, then click on the “Actions tab” ; choose “View All Sizes” and then pick “The Size” you’d like to view …. Another little trick is once looking at a photo on flickr, just left click on the image and it’ll relaunch with a black background which can look really good. Left click on the pic again takes it back to white background.

This is a going to be a short post, so much so that I’m not even going to write an initial summary like I normally do. I’m currently sat here in early June, with the sun shining and it’s really quite pleasant (ignoring the occasional showers that are around today) and I’ve just looked back at some of my photo’s from a walk around the local village of Wolston. 

20100220-04_Snowdrops near Wolston community centre by gary.haddenSo, in counterpoint to the previous handful of my “big” walks diaries, this post is to show that it’s possible to enjoy a wander for an hour or so without getting all sweaty and tired, lumping ruck-sacks over hills and dales, etc. etc. – It’s good to do the little things as well ! 

I can hardly remember why I ended up in Wolston – probably to do with classes that my son used to do there a while back, but, what I am sure about is that it was a cold crisp morning with some snow and frost on the ground and some blue sky breaking through the clouds … a 20100220-10_Snowdrops near Wolston community centre by gary.haddenperfect late winters day to wrap up warm, get some fresh air and have a play with taking a few photo’s. 

I parked at The Village Leisure and Community Centre, towards the western end of the village (GR. SP406,753) and nearby there is a very narrow strip of woods which is where I started my wander. I only got a few feet along the path when I stopped, before I’d got started really. 20100220-12_Snowdrops near Wolston community centre by gary.haddenThis was because of the lovely drifts of snowdrops naturalised in the undergrowth, their droopy blooms a real picture poking through the remnants of recent a snowfall, leaf litter and trailing ivy. I spent quite some time trying to get some photo’s, and I think I did OK despite shivering in the cold, not having a tripod and not wanting to kneel down on the wet ground [it’s a long way down to ground level when you’re well over six foot tall !] 

20100220-15_Crocus buds near Wolston community centre by gary.haddenAnyway, after a while I set off again, and I was lucky enough to see some of the first crocuses of the year whilst dropping through the narrow strip of trees with some gentle views over stubbly fields down to St. Margaret’s’ Church. The Church was to be more or less the furthest point along of my stroll, but there isn’t a direct route across the fields, so, it meant following the path down into the village (this path is used by the “A Coventry Way”, “Centenary Way” and “Shakespeare’s Avon Way” named walks) and it didn’t take long to pick up, and then emerge from, a narrow enclosed path passing the local school. 

20100220-13_St Margarets Church - Wolston from near the community centre by gary.hadden   20100220-14_St Margarets Church - Wolston from near the community centre by gary.hadden

20100220-18_St Margarets Church - Wolston by gary.hadden

A turn left here took me along an access road, skirting the edge of a pasture, to reach St. Margaret’s church which is an attractive building in an unassuming way. From the church I took the footpath down to the bridge over The River Avon, just a hundred yards or so away. This is in fact two bridges, the old single-width road bridge (now traffic signal controlled) and a rather utilitarian (at least in my eyes) metal footbridge just for pedestrians. I was rewarded with a beautiful pair of swans swimming on the river below me and the low weak sun sparkling off the water’s surface.  

20100220-21_Pair of swans on The River Avon - Wolston by gary.hadden   20100220-22_Pair of swans on The River Avon - Wolston by gary.hadden

 20100220-25_Pair of swans on The River Avon - Wolston by gary.hadden

20100220-26_Stream through Wolston Pasture by gary.haddenIt was cold though, especially near the river, so I didn’t hang around, moving off back towards the village centre. This brought me back to the pasture (with a small brook running through it) already passed by earlier. Even the sheep looked cold; they couldn’t even be bothered to get up from their sitting positions when I got close to them – Very un-sheep-like. Rather than retrace my steps back to the church, I walked back to the village along main street and I was soon at the centre where the brook is culverted between brick walls and with several small bridges spanning it. 

 

20100220-20_Sheep in meadow - Wolston Village by gary.hadden   20100220-27_St Margarets Church - Wolston by gary.hadden

20100220-28_Stream through Wolston Village - Main Street by gary.haddenOver-all the village is quite attractive with a mix of buildings including half timbered cottages, but it doesn’t feel like a touristy destination – it’s a real living place with pubs, shops, library (for for how long in the current climate of cuts) and housing.  

At the memorial cross I turned around, found the alley-way passing the school and then retraced my steps up to my car this time not stopping to take pic’s of the snowdrops. 

Later on in the day I headed down to “The Green” in Bilton village (on the outskirts of Rugby) to take some pic’s of the crocuses, which make a superb display every year. I was rewarded by the flowers emerging from the snow in bright sunshine – Lovely. 

20100220-34_Crocus in the snow - Bilton Green Rugby by gary.hadden

20100220-32_Crocus in the snow - Bilton Green Rugby by gary.hadden

20100220-35_Crocus in the snow - Bilton Green Rugby by gary.hadden   20100220-33_Crocus in the snow - Bilton Green Rugby by gary.hadden

20100220-29_Crocus in the snow - Bilton Green Rugby by gary.hadden

I hope you enjoyed my scribblings and pix ….

T.T..F.N. Gary

Leave a Reply

