20110910_Scout Group-Camp Walk

20110910_Scout Group-Camp Walk

When : 10th September 2011.

Who : Me, Craig + 7th Rugby Scout Group’s Beavers, Cubs and handful of leaders.

Where : Group Camp.

Approx Distance : 4 km (2.5 Miles)

Approx Heights : Nothing of any significance.

A shortish diary write up this one, just a record of a mini walk which I sort of lead whilst helping at Group Camp with the 7th Rugby (Bilton) Scout Group.

We’d all woken, had breakfast (a very noisy breakfast) and gathered outside one of our huts ready for a bit of a walk. I say we, well, that consisted of a large contingent of Beavers and Cub Scouts and a bunch of Leaders and other adult helpers. Our party numbered well over 50 people and that was without the older Scouts, Explorers and various other Leaders who were to stay on site doing other stuff.

I’d taken a map of the area (just on the off-chance it might get used) which was kind of useful as I didn’t know the short walk was going to happen until I got to camp.

The initial idea was to have a wander down to some mill buildings [private property] where the bridle path [public right of way], crosses the mill stream and a small stream. The cubs and scouts were then to play Poohsticks (if you don’t know what Poohsticks is, have a read of Winney The Pooh by A.A.Milne and top up your education; or just look at this link for the Wikipedia explanation. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Poohsticks.

The mill stream was, ermm, almost complete still, like a mill pond in fact, which didn’t bode well for playing poohsticks one iota; so we headed down the path for the very short distance to the stream-stream, and this wasn’t flowing very quickly either, an indication of how little rain we’d had recently. Still, they managed to get some games played whilst I talked maps and compasses to a few cubs that showed an interest … even to the point of taking a compass bearing confirming where one of two paths crossed the field ahead of us.

The games were soon completed and rather than head straight back to the camp site (we still had about another hour before the flag raising ceremony), the Akelas asked if there was a shortish route I could lead the throng around. There was only one sensible “circle”, so I chose the clockwise route, as the last time here they’d done the anti-clockwise direction.

So off we went, single file; me, followed by Cubs, in turn followed by Beavers, all interspersed with the adults. What a crocodile that produced! …. it didn’t take long before several Cubs had passed me and were pushing the pace a little whilst others were doing The Conga just behind me. The increased pace would obviously have suited me but not the youngest in the party, so I kept slowing things down to keep a semblance of togetherness. After a while, I decided the oldest and most able were getting all the rests and the smallest amongst us getting hardly any rest stops at-all, so I reversed the order and brought the youngest ones to the front, forcing the oldest to bring up the rear (I guessed they wouldn’t have liked that, but that was just tough luck! …. My 10.y.o. son has since confirmed this, saying he was struggling to walk that slow).

Not long after this, we reached the small village of Claybrooke Parva, marking the furthest extent of the walk; a turn to the right alongside the road lead us through the village on a paved footpath and then after passing the church, another right turn onto a country footpath effectively turned us back towards our campsite. We were now on a small part of The Leicestershire Round and after a couple of fields and kissing gates we found ourselves at the edge of Claybrooke Magna. It was between the two Claybrookes that I gained a passenger. One of the younger Beavers complained of a hurting knee, and was getting a piggy-back by one of the young lady leaders who looked like she was struggling a little …. so, being the gent’ that I am, I volunteered to swap map for passenger, and the child was soon hoisted high onto my shoulders giving a completely different viewpoint on the world.

A right turn at Claybrooke Magna soon brought us into a quite large field; to pick up the pace I gave the Beavers the chance to run on ahead to stop at the hedge at the far end …. A good contingent of them took up the offer, and were soon dashing on ahead. A regroup was then in order before crossing the next field in single file, which brought us back to the mill area, to the sound of “Ohhh we’re back here, I know where we are now” from several of the party. Several of the “kids” then stood admiring a rather battered looking TR7, and a much more pristine and exciting looking 4×4 off-road racing car, before we moved off again retracing our outward steps back to the camp-site just about dead on time for the flag raising.

And that was that … My first proper walk leading Cubs and Beavers out in the countryside. Sorry there are no pic’s – I didn’t take a camera and I wouldn’t post kids pic’s on the web anyway even if I had, and any right minded person would agree with that decision. For some pix by others, please use the following links :-  Claybrooke Parva and  Claybrooke Magna.

Well, that’s that, I hope you enjoyed my scribblings ….

If you’d like to comment on my diary, please feel welcome.

T.T.F.N. Gary.

Leave a Reply

