20120831_Upton House + Gardens Visit

20120831_A wander around Upton House and Gardens

20120831-21_Me on My 50th Birthday - B+W by gary.haddenWhen : 31st August 2012

Who : Me and my family

Where : Upton House and Gardens, Warwickshire, England

Summary :  A birthday day out for me – My 50th ! – To Upton House and Gardens, National Trust Property.

20120831-12_Upton House Gardens - Flower Border Terrace by gary.haddenLocation : Just off the A422 (Stratford-Upon-Avon to Banbury Road) midway between Ettington and Banbury. Once on the A422 it’s very well sign-posted.

If you click on a pic’ it should launch as a larger image on my flickr photostream.

Not a country walk as such really, but I thought I’d share this post as it was a lovely day out, very gentle, to celebrate my 50th birthday where I’d booked a day off as holiday from work.

Not working; Sun shining; No rain; With my lovely Wife and Kids; It couldn’t have gotten very much better.

20120831_A wander around Upton House and Gardens

The day panned out like this :-

  • Was allowed a bit of a lie in (doesn’t happen often).
  • Didn’t go to work (good start to the day!)
  • Opened my prezzies.
  • Successfully ran some errands in Town.
  • Good drive down The Fosse Way (B4455) to turn off onto the A422 to reach Upton House.
  • Got Priorities right as soon as we’d paid to get in = Cream Tea for lunch!(National Trust Tea Shops/Restaurants are consistently very good).

20120831-01_Upton House Gardens - Iron Crocodile by gary.hadden    20120831-06_Me - Myself - Yours Truly - I = Gary Hadden by gary.hadden

20120831-02_Cream Tea_Me - Myself - Yours Truly - I = Gary Hadden by gary.hadden

  • Walk around the steeply terraced gardens (Herbaceous Flower Borders and Vegetable/Fruit Allotments).

20120831-10_A secluded spot by gary.hadden

20120831-11_Upton House Gardens - Balustraded Steps by gary.hadden

20120831-16_Upton House Gardens - Alloments + Reflections by gary.hadden

  • Wander around the large pond and then the small pond (with giant coy) and later the Bog Garden.

20120831-13_Upton House Gardens - Pond + Alloments by gary.hadden

20120831-14_Upton House Gardens - Pond + Boundary Wall Border by gary.hadden

20120831-15_Upton House Gardens - Tranquil Reflections by gary.hadden

20120831-17_Upton House Gardens - Small Pond Reflections by gary.hadden

20120831-18_Upton House Gardens - Giant Coy Carp by gary.hadden

20120831-19_Upton House Gardens - In The Bog Garden by gary.hadden

  • And a walk around the inside of the House itself, with its huge selection of paintings (some very important and big names included – Some I liked, Some I didn’t, but isn’t that the nature of art!).
  • Dinner out at the Old Royal Oak / Hungry Horse Pub in Hillmorton on the Outskirts of Rugby (at the side of The Oxford Canal) – I had an excellent mixed grill, lubricated with a couple pints of bitter.
  • Ended of the day with a large glass of single malt whisky (Bowmore, from the isle of Islay = one of my prezzies) … Scrummy stuff indeed – Will it last ‘till Christmas ?
  • And finally, To bed, very relaxed and chilled.

I hope you enjoy my pic’s, even a fraction of how I enjoyed being there taking them :-

And, to sum up :- We tell our kids to find alternative, more descriptive words for “nice” when writing in their school work, but the whole day was eerrrrmm, well, dare I say it “NICE” …. even if I had reached THE BIG FIVE-OH, and I’m now in my 6th DECADE – oh well let’s be positive and not dwell on that !

And finally …. If you’d like to comment on my diary or any of my pic’s please feel welcome.

T.T.F.N. Gary

2 thoughts on “20120831_Upton House + Gardens Visit

  1. That sounds like a terrific day – and the pics are lovely – I especially enjoyed the pictures of the gardens – all those lovely patterns and colours and textures!

  2. Thanks for the comment Ali – Yes it was a super day … will have to revisit – maybe in the spring.

Leave a Reply

